Pakistan Test team squad announced for New Zealand tour – SUCH TV

Pakistan national cricket team Chief Selector Wahab Riaz has announced the 17-member squad for the upcoming New Zealand tour.

Addressing a press conference along with cricketer Kamran Akmal, who is also the consultant of the chief selector, the caretaker minister announced that Shadab Khan was unavailable due to an injury, while wicketkeeper Muhammad Haris has also been asked to rest.

He further said Shaheen Shah Afridi will lead the team during the tour, which will include Babar Azam, Muhammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Saim Ayub, Muhammd Nawaz, Azam Khan, Osama Mir, Abrar Ahmed, Wasim Jr., Zaman Khan, Abbas Afridi, Aamir Jamal, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah Khan and Sahibzada Farhan.

Clarifying the ouster of Shadab Khan, Wahab Riaz said the all-rounder was an asset for the national T-20 squad, adding that Haseebullah Khan has been performing well for two years.

Mohammad Hasnain and Naseem Shah were unfit, and have recovered, Riaz said during the press conference, adding that Ehsanullah will take some time to get fit. “It would be premature to say anything about Ehsanullah’s participation in PSL.”

He further said that Abrar Ahmed will not be available for the second Test either and they were trying to prepare a backup.

If the new players are given a chance, they will be ready, remarked Kamran Akmal.

Wahab Riaz said the name of the Test team captain, Shaan Masood, was not considered. Attempts are being made to include domestic performers in the team, he added.

“It is very important to have young players along with the seniors,” he commented. “Shaheen Afridi needs to be given time.”

The vice captain will be appointed during the pre-series tour, Riaz explained, adding that the camp will be held from December 28 to January 3.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button