Pak vs Aus: Morris released from squad for Melbourne Test

Australia on track to play an unchanged XI in the second Test against Pakistan in Melbourne

Australia´s Nathan Lyon (centre L) celebrates with teammates after taking his 500th wicket, Pakistan´s Faheem Ashraf, during day four of the first Test cricket match between Australia and Pakistan in Perth on December 17, 2023. — AFP
  • Morris was released to play in the Big Bash League.
  • Home side crushed visitors by 360 runs at Perth.
  • Opener David Warner retains place for the Boxing Day Test. 

Australia are on track to play an unchanged XI in the second Test against Pakistan in Melbourne, announcing a trimmed-down squad Monday with back-up fast bowler Lance Morris omitted.

The home side crushed the visitors by 360 runs inside four days at Perth on Sunday, with off-spinner Nathan Lyon taking his 500th wicket.

Opener David Warner hit a battling 164 to ensure he retained his place for the Boxing Day Test in what is expected to be his farewell series.

The 37-year-old has indicated that the third Test in Sydney will be his last and had been under pressure after a lean run and with former fast bowler Mitchell Johnson saying he did not deserve a hero’s farewell.

Morris was released to play in the Big Bash League with pace spearheads Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood injury-free and Scott Boland the first choice should a replacement be needed.

“Lance has been released for the Melbourne match but will stay prepared for Test cricket as he remains firmly in our plans for the summer, should an opportunity arise,” said chief selector George Bailey.

“Otherwise, the squad remains unchanged following the strong performance in Perth.”

Australia squad 

David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (capt), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Scott Boland, Cameron Green

Australia tour schedule

Four-day match: PM’s XI vs Pakistan – December 6-9: Manuka Oval, Canberra

1st Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 14-18: Perth Stadium

2nd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 26-30: Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)

3rd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – January 3-7: Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button